What should I know about Texas misdemeanor theft?

| Apr 11, 2021 | Criminal Defense |

Texas is similar to other US states in that the types of theft crimes are pursuant to the value of the property that the accused stole. Essentially, it is this value that separates misdemeanor theft from felony theft in the state of Texas.

Specifically, the limit of a misdemeanor theft in Texas is property worth no more than $1,500. However, there are some exceptions to this rule.

The classes of Texas misdemeanor theft

There are three different classes of misdemeanor theft in Texas: Class C, Class B and Class A. With Class C misdemeanor theft, the property must be worth less than $50. This class of misdemeanor theft will result in a fine of no more than $500, and no jail time.

A Class B misdemeanor theft charge is more serious, with the stolen property worth between $50 and $500. This will result in a fine of no more than $2,000 and a jail sentence of no longer than six months. The courts consider stealing an identification document a Class B misdemeanor theft. Finally, Class A misdemeanors are the most serious, reserved for property theft worth between $500 but less than $1,500. In this instance, the accused may pay up to $4,000 and spend up to a year in jail.

What are the exceptions?

If the item stolen is a firearm or specific varieties of livestock, this upgrades the offense from misdemeanor theft to a state jail felony. It is also possible for there to be additional fines and restitution that the accused must pay to the victim on top of the penalties levied by the court.